Legal Innovation Index


Winners for the  2017 Legal Innovation Index Announced

Janders Dean and Lexis Nexis are proud to announce the 2017 Legal Innovation Index Winners.    Firms and individuals have recognised for cutting edge innovation in technology, document management, operational efficiency and AI and more.
To see the full list of winners click here

In response to a rapidly changing industry impacted by innovations across areas such as staffing , Janders Dean launched the Australian and New Zealand annual Legal Innovation Index for the legal industry in 2013 with the support and sponsorship of LexisNexis. Now in the sixth successful year, the 2017 Legal Innovation Index seeks to provide national recognition to the most innovative firms and legal teams in Australia and New Zealand, through initiatives that deliver uniqueness and value to their clients and differentiate their organisation.

“Since the inception of this Index, we are proud to have seen some amazing innovations being rolled out by legal firms, in-house counsels as well as individual innovators, a category that was introduced just last year”, explains Simon Wilkins, General Manager, LexisNexis Australia. “We are optimistic about the new practices and strategies which have been implemented since each annual Index has been announced, and hope to see an exponential growth in entries this year.”

2017 Winners

“In a time of great noise and confusion with respect to innovation and disruption in our industry, there is a subset of individuals and organisations who are quietly moving beyond the hype, and towards true differentiation,” says North. “Some firms ‘talk’, and some firms ‘do’. The Index has been the benchmark for separating these, and for recognising those who continue to push the boundaries and shape the future of the legal industry.”

 Justin North, Director, Janders Dean.

2018 Judging Panel

Peter leonard
Peter Leonard
Data Synergies


Peta Portelli

Michele DeStefano
University of Miami

Justin North
Janders Dean

Jose Torres

John Flood
Griffith University

Clarissa Rayward
Happy Lawyer, Happy Life

Chantelle Maree

Carin Holmes